Old and Dirty; Iron City; Sharktopus

Here’s a thing that I did at least 3 years ago–back when I was still at Austin College in Texas. The Student Organization for Modern Art (of which I was partially in charge at the time–it took several years off my life) organized a 5-hour comics marathon, which was moderately successful. I was put in charge of making this cover and getting a book ready for print–whether or not it ever saw paper is a mystery in which I am completely disinterested. Maybe somebody else out there in internet land knows.

If you’re interested, you can read my contribution to this project (and a bunch of other old comics) over at my badly-neglected DeviantArt I can repost here if desired, but I’m feelin’ lazier than normal.

On Thursday, Lena Chandhok, Paul Swartz, Max Mose and myself are all making the trek down to Pittsburgh for the very first Pittsburgh Indy Comics Expo, PIX! It’s super exciting for yours truly, as this is the first time I’ll be tabling, and, I think, the public debut of the print version of not only Susan Declares Independence, but of the reprinted Tentacle Kid story from Tales from San Papel, as well as the first chance the general public has to purchase my comics–in all their sexy, poorly-formatted grandeur.

So yeah, Pittsburghers, if any of you read this blog, come on out to PIX! You might regret it, but I find that highly doubtful, unless someone catches on fire whilst spewing racist epithets at the top of their lungs.

Also, have you heard of the movie Sharktopus? Big C and I are going to watch it in a few minutes, and unless I miss my guess, we’re both going to lose a few braincells because of nautical nonsense. It should be noted as well that Sharktopus is brought to us by the same folk who did Mega Shark vs. Giant Octopus, which in my humble opinion was the most egregious Oscar snub in all of cinematic history. We can only hope that future generations will realize their forebears’ mistake.

Anyway, see you in Pittsburgh!

 

2 Responses to “Old and Dirty; Iron City; Sharktopus”

  1. Aw man, I can’t wait to table next to you! We will high five all the time.

    ALL. THE. TIME.

  2. We will make Sharktopus happen eventually. I will eat fish that night.

Leave a Reply

