On the Road: Pteromechanophobia, the Worst Snoop Dogg Ever, and the Gator-headed Avenger

Drawn on standard letter printer paper, assembled in photoshoppe.

If those colors look kind of weird, it’s because I’m a bit colorblind. Which is part of why I avoid computer coloring if at all possible.

A couple of days ago, I went and purchased Upton Sinclair’s the Jungle and Q Hayashida’s Dorohedoro v.1. I’ve always meant to read the Jungle, and the topseekrit project I’m working on right now gives me a great excuse. “Organize! Organize! Organize!”
Of course, I haven’t started it yet. I’m still chugging through Maldoror. I read a few pages this very morning whilst waiting for coffee to brew. This was, of course, a terrible idea. I’ll spare you the graphic descriptions of murder, etc. that assaulted my somnolent brain this time, but interested parties should refer to canto 3, verse 2. Woof.
Dorohedoro isn’t much easier on the stomach, but it leaves less to my addled imagination, which is sometimes a good thing. The book was put out only this March by Viz under their Sig-IKKI imprint. You can read the first (and seventh through twelfth)chapter(s) online for free.
Q Hayashida’s art style is quite different from a lot of manga artists that I’ve read–some of her rendering calls to mind certain stories from Grendel: Black & Red and Steve Bissette’s more splattery pieces.
As one ever-so-astute commenter on the Sig-IKKI site noted, “not it’s not [sic] ‘gritty’, it’s messy” (thanks for reminding me why I read more comics than just manga, Ty). My initial response of “stfu, weaboo” led to me thinking about what it is that I like about Hayashida’s style, and how that sets her work apart from a lot of her compatriots.
I haven’t come to any real conclusions, but I can say confidently that the fact that Hayashida’s work has texture, that she doesn’t rely solely on screen-tones to convey the qualities of surfaces, that she isn’t afraid to throw some fucking ink at the page, makes her style quite refreshing–albeit possibly offputting to fans of CLAMP or Oku Hiroya.

Back to Vermont on Wednesday, monsters!

4 Responses to “On the Road: Pteromechanophobia, the Worst Snoop Dogg Ever, and the Gator-headed Avenger”

  1. CJ Joughin Says:

    Just read the first chapter you linked too; the grittiness reminds me of Ito in a good way. It definitely helps give a better sense of space.

    • You should check out Jiro Matsumoto, too–he doesn’t have anything published in print here (and probably never will), but there are scanlations of his work.
      I shudder to think what closed-minded comments would be posted on the “Freesia” board…

  2. I made me one of dem blog thangs.
    I like your layout here

Leave a Reply

